Cart

Film screening / Documentary Coded Bias

There is no algorithm for truth
Multiplica 
© 7th Empire Media
Multiplica 

Modern society sits at the intersection of two crucial questions. What does it mean when artificial intelligence (AI) increasingly governs our liberties? And what are the consequences for the people AI is biased against? 

When MIT Media Lab researcher Joy Buolamwini discovers that most facial-recognition software does not accurately identify darker-skinned faces and the faces of women, she delves into an investigation of widespread bias in algorithms. As it turns out, artificial intelligence is not neutral, and women are leading the charge to ensure our civil rights are protected.

Coded Bias Official Trailer

producer: Shalini Kantayya p.g.a. / co-producer: Sabine Hoffman / director of photography: Steve Acevedo / editors: Alexandra Gilwit, Zachary Ludescher, Shalini Kantayya / visual effects: Zachary Ludescher, Alexandra Gilwit / original score: Katya Mihailova

Public discussion

The screening will be followed by a discussion with journalist Joël Adami and the audience.
(in English with French translation)

Algorithmic bias in Luxembourg and Europe
Artificial intelligence will make our lives easier and free us of mundane tasks. This promise sounds great, but are we really aware of all the consequences that will stem from putting our trust in the logical” decisions of a computer – a machine that may not act so logically after all? After the screening of the movie Coded Bias, we’ll take a closer look at some examples of AI applications and at the potential risks posed by algorithmic bias in Luxembourg and Europe.

The filmmaker

Filmmaker Shalini Kantayya’s debut Catching the Sun (executive producer: Leonardo Di Caprio) premiered at the LA Film Festival and was named a NY Times Critic’s Pick. It released globally on Netflix on Earth Day 2016 and was nominated for the Environmental Media Association Award of the Best Documentary.

Kantayya went on to direct for the National Geographic television series Breakthrough (executive producer: Ron Howard) broadcast globally in June 2017. Her latest documentary film, Coded Bias, premiered at the 2020 Sundance Film Festival.

Shalini Kantayya is a TED Fellow, a William J. Fullbright Scholar, and an Associate of the UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism.

Panier

Projection / Documentaire Coded Bias

Les algorithmes ont-ils des préjugés ?
Multiplica 
© 7th Empire Media
Multiplica 

La société contemporaine fait face à deux questions essentielles. Que faut-il penser du fait que l’intelligence artificielle (IA) régit de plus en plus nos libertés ? Et quelles en sont les conséquences pour les personnes contre lesquelles l’IA est biaisée? 

Lorsque Joy Buolamwini, chercheuse au MIT Media Lab, découvre que la plupart des logiciels de reconnaissance faciale n’identifient pas avec précision les visages à la peau plus foncée et les visages des femmes, elle se lance dans une enquête sur les préjugés des algorithmes. Il s’avère que l’intelligence artificielle n’est pas neutre, et les femmes mènent la charge pour garantir la protection des droits civils de chacun∙e.

Coded Bias Official Trailer

producer: Shalini Kantayya p.g.a. / co-producer: Sabine Hoffman / director of photography: Steve Acevedo / editors: Alexandra Gilwit, Zachary Ludescher, Shalini Kantayya / visual effects: Zachary Ludescher, Alexandra Gilwit / original score: Katya Mihailova

Échange avec le public

La projection sera suivie d’un échange avec le journaliste Joël Adami et le public.
(en anglais, traduction simultanée en français)

Les préjugés des algorithmes au Luxembourg et en Europe
L’intelligence artificielle va faciliter notre vie et nous débarraser des tâches les plus quelconques. C’est une belle promise mais sommes-nous seulement conscient∙e∙s de toutes les conséquences que cette pleine confiance en les décisions «logiques» d’un ordinateur entraine? Après tout, une machine n’agit pas toujours de manière logique. À l’issue de la projection du documentaire Coded Bias, nous examinerons quelques utilisations de l’intelligence artificielle et les risques potentiels des préjugés algorithmiques au Luxembourg et en Europe.

La réalisatrice

Le premier film de la cinéaste Shalini Kantayya, Catching the Sun (producteur exécutif : Leonardo Di Caprio) a été montré pour la première fois au Festival du film de Los Angeles et retenu parmi les choix de la critique par le New York Times. Il est sorti dans le monde entier sur Netflix à l’occasion de la Journée de la Terre en 2016 et a été nominé pour le prix du meilleur documentaire de l’Association des médias environnementaux.

Kantayya a ensuite réalisé la série télévisée du National Geographic, Breakthrough (producteur exécutif : Ron Howard), diffusée dans le monde entier en juin 2017. Son dernier film documentaire, Coded Bias, a été présenté en avant-première au Festival du film de Sundance en 2020.

Shalini Kantayya a bénéficié d’une bourse TED ainsi que d’une bourse William J. Fullbright, et est associate à l’UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism.