Cart
Favourites
From 16 years old

Film screening & Get-together The Watermelon Woman

Queer loox: The queer-feminist film series in Luxembourg
© Cheryl Dunye

In The Watermelon Woman, Cheryl, a fledgling Black lesbian filmmaker played by Dunye herself, sets out to make a documentary about Faith Richardson, a lost cinematic ancestor glimpsed in 1930s race films. 

Playfully switching between 16mm film and the glorious, radical and short-lived 1990s grainy videotape aesthetic, Dunye layers slices of everyday life with black-and-white archival bits about Faith.

The Watermelon Woman highlights the systemic erasure of Black, queer creative labour from both collective memory and the archive. It illustrates the importance of films in black culture as a site for representation and creative expression. By focusing on the obscurity of the Watermelon Woman’s mystery, the film also exposes the impact of the stereotypical roles assigned to Black actresses (in this case, the mammy’ figure). Historical and contemporary social issues such as bureaucracy, police violence, and racial profiling of Black youth are also discussed. However, it is refreshing to experience a film about the Black queer experience that does not centre on trauma and violence but exposes the subtle moments in which they appear.

The Watermelon Woman — Trailer
queer loox

queer loox is a queer-feminist film and event series in Luxembourg. Queer in a broad sense signifies a crossing of traditional identity categories and implies a critical engagement with the division between the normal’ and the social illegitimate’. The series presents a wide range of feature films, documentaries, video art, ethnographic films, etc. queer loox sees itself as a queer-feminist platform, a meeting-point for discussion, and also dancing.

Next events

Tue 08.02.22 >19:00
Double feature Monika Treut :
Gendernauts (1999) & Genderation (2021)

Tue 08.03.22 >19:00
Body: Politics
Experimental feminist short films (programme TBA)

Tue 05.04.22 >19:00
Hedwig and the Angry Inch
(2001, dir. John Cameron Mitchell)

Panier
Favoris
À partir de 16 ans

Projection & Rencontre The Watermelon Woman

Queer loox: The queer-feminist film series in Luxembourg
© Cheryl Dunye

Dans The Watermelon Woman, Cheryl, une jeune cinéaste lesbienne noire, interprétée par Dunye elle-même, se lance dans la réalisation d’un documentaire sur Faith Richardson, un icône perdue du cinéma aperçue dans les films des années 1930 produits spécifiquement pour le public noir.

Alternant joyeusement entre le film 16 mm et l’esthétique granuleuse, radicale et éphémère des années 1990, Dunye superpose des tranches de la vie quotidienne avec des morceaux d’archives en noir et blanc sur Faith.

The Watermelon Woman met en évidence l’effacement systémique du travail créatif noir et queer de la mémoire collective et des archives. Le film illustre l’importance des films dans la culture noire en tant que lieu de représentation et d’expression créative. En se concentrant sur le mystère de la femme pastèque, le film met le doigt sur l’impact des rôles stéréotypés attribués aux actrices noires (dans ce cas, la figure de la « mammy », ou nounou). Il aborde également des questions sociétales, historiques et contemporaines, telles que la bureaucratie, la violence policière et le profilage racial des jeunes noirs. Malgré ces thèmes lourds, The Watermelon Woman est un film rafraîchissant traitant de l’expérience queer noire sans se concentrer sur le traumatisme et la violence, mais qui expose les moments subtils dans lesquels ils apparaissent.

The Watermelon Woman — Trailer
queer loox

queer loox est une série de films et d’événements queer-féministes au Luxembourg. Le terme « queer » signifie « étrange », « peu commun », « bizarre », en opposition à la « norme ». Les soirées queer loox alternent présentations de longs métrages, de documentaires et d’installations artistiques, dans l’espoir de devenir une véritable plateforme propice aux rencontres, aux discussions, voire aux soirées dansantes.

Prochaines dates

Mar 08.02.22 >19:00
Double feature Monika Treut :
Gendernauts (1999) & Genderation (2021)

Mar 08.03.22 >19:00
Body: Politics
Experimental feminist short films (programme TBA)

Mar 05.04.22 >19:00
Hedwig and the Angry Inch
(2001, dir. John Cameron Mitchell)