Cart
Favourites

The theatre educator Mirka Costanzi

Giving a time out to pause and reflect”

The opening of Rotondes’ new production Wellbeing – Mental Noise is just around the corner. This documentary play is the culmination of a long process of research and creative work, and was initiated by Ministry of Education, Children and Youth to accompany a data update about youth’s situation in Luxembourg in 2021. We have met three people, who were involved at different stages of the project, including a Rotondes theatre educator, Mirka Costanzi.

Mirka, you and our colleague Amandine Moutier met up with several school and extracurricular groups to prepare the Wellbeing play. Can you explain the purpose of these meetings?

Rotondes and the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth entrusted the creation of the play to director Nathalie Moyen. The planned theme was the wellbeing of young people in Luxembourg, but we quickly found out that, apart from scientific studies, there was no material available about the daily life of our youth. Our objective was therefore twofold. As a first step, we collected young people’s words and feelings to support the creative work. Then we made them aware of the issues related to wellbeing and what it actually means to them, how they can work towards it, why they can’t always achieve it…

It is a delicate and very personal topic. Was creating a relationship of trust an essential part of your work?

Definitely, and that’s why we wanted the project to be spread out over time, and why we made a programme of 3 or 6 meetings with each group. Prior to those meetings, we also organised training sessions with their teachers. We presented the project to them, defined what our role was in it and what everyone else’s role would be. Through the teachers, we asked the young people three questions. We wanted to know what their expectations were, what their fears were and what they thought they could bring to the project. In this way, any possible misunderstandings were cleared up from the outset and we were able to get off to a good start.

Our aim was not to make discussion groups where everyone could talk about their problems. But we weren’t there either to simply collect testimonies, photos and recordings. The intention was not to exploit” the young people and their emotions in any way. We wanted to give them a time out to pause and reflect. Nearly all of them will come and see the play and we will meet them afterwards to talk.

What is the role of a theatre educator in a project like Wellbeing?

In all projects, a theatre educator’s job is to encourage the participants to use their individual, social and creative skills. That is what’s been at the heart of the project: to help the young people question when and where they feel good. To know how to be in state of wellbeing, you must know yourself and who you are, be aware of your values, be able to recognise the emotions that come up when you feel good or bad. We talked about which defence mechanisms we use to manage our stress, for example. It was interesting to approach all of this in a more theatrical setting instead of a class setting, by using interviews, movement and typical educational theatre activities.

Were the workshops guided by the director’s needs?

We could have done an educational component separate from the creation of the play but that would have been a missed opportunity. So we asked Nathalie to give us some prompts and tell us which themes to focus a bit more on, so we were sure to bring back testimonies and stories that would be useful for her. That’s what led us to approach themes about identity, values and everyday life. Nathalie also attended some of the workshops to talk directly with the participants and ask them the questions that were on her mind. For the young people it was important to meet the artistic team behind the project, who were going interpret their feelings and lives. For Amandine and me, it also allowed us to highlight the aesthetic side of the project.

The whole process must have prompted the young people to think about important things in a way they don’t usually do?

Alongside the workshops, they all had a notebook they could use to freely and anonymously write down different concerns some felt were too personal or complicated. It was interesting to see that the difficult issues differed according to their age. In any case, the workshops opened the way for new discussions between them and led to for in-depth reflections. I am convinced that they will all take something away from this project.

Panier
Favoris

La pédagogue de théâtre Mirka Costanzi

« Proposer un temps de pause pour réfléchir »

La première de Wellbeing – Mental Noise, la nouvelle production des Rotondes, aura lieu très bientôt. Née sous l’impulsion du ministère de l’Éducation nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse (MENJE) travaillant à une réactualisation des données sur la situation de la jeunesse au Luxembourg en 2021, cette pièce de théâtre documentaire est le fruit d’un long travail de recherche et de création. Nous avons rencontré trois personnes qui se sont impliquées dans le projet à différentes phases dont une pédagogue de théâtre des Rotondes, Mirka Costanzi.

Mirka, notre collègue Amandine Moutier et toi avez rencontré quelques groupes scolaires et extrascolaires pour préparer la pièce Wellbeing. Est-ce que tu peux nous expliquer le but de ces rencontres?

Encouragées par le MENJE, les Rotondes ont confié la création d’une pièce de théâtre à la metteuse en scène Nathalie Moyen. Le thème prévu était le bien-être des jeunes au Luxembourg mais à part des études scientifiques, il n’y avait pas de matériel ancré dans la vie quotidienne des jeunes. Notre objectif était donc double. D’une part, on a récolté les mots et le ressenti des jeunes pour nourrir la création. Et d’autre part, on a sensibilisé les jeunes qu’on a rencontré∙e∙s aux questions liées au bien-être : ce que c’est pour eux, comment ça se construit, pourquoi on n’y arrive pas toujours,…

C’est un sujet délicat et très personnel. Créer une relation de confiance était essentiel, non?

C’est pour cela qu’on tenait à ce que le projet s’étale dans le temps et qu’on a proposé à chaque groupe un programme de 3 ou 6 rencontres. Puis, avant de rencontrer les jeunes, on a organisé des formations avec leurs enseignant∙e∙s. On leur a présenté le projet et on a défini notre rôle, le leur et celui des jeunes. Par leur biais, on a transmis trois questions aux jeunes : on voulait savoir quelles étaient leurs attentes, quelles étaient leurs craintes et ce qu’ils/elles pensaient pouvoir apporter au projet. De cette façon, on pouvait dissiper tout malentendu dès le départ et partir sur de bonnes bases.

Notre but n’était pas de créer des groupes de parole pour parler de ses problèmes. Mais on n’était pas là non plus pour simplement collecter des témoignages, des photos et des enregistrements. Il n’était pas question d’«exploiter» les jeunes et leurs émotions. On voulait leur proposer un temps de pause pour réfléchir. Ils/​elles viendront presque tou∙te∙s voir la pièce et on les reverra ensuite pour en discuter.

Quel est le rôle d’une pédagogue de théâtre pour un projet comme Wellbeing?

Dans tous les projets, les pédagogues de théâtre sont là pour encourager les participant∙e∙s à utiliser leurs compétences individuelles, sociales et créatives. Ça a été la base pour aider les jeunes à répondre à la question: où et quand se sent-on bien ? Pour savoir comment se sentir bien, il faut se connaître, savoir qui on est, connaître ses valeurs, pouvoir reconnaître les émotions qui arrivent quand on se sent bien ou mal. On a parlé des mécanismes de défense qu’on met en place pour gérer son stress, par exemple. C’était intéressant d’aborder tout ça dans un cadre plus théâtral, pas de faire un cours mais d’explorer ça par des interviews, du mouvement et des activités typiquement de théâtre pédagogique.

Les workshops étaient-ils guidés par les besoins de la metteuse en scène?

On aurait pu faire un volet pédagogique détaché de la création de la pièce mais ça aurait été une occasion manquée. Donc on a demandé à Nathalie de nous donner des pistes, de nous dire les thèmes qu’elle voulait qu’on cible un peu plus pour ramener à coup sûr des témoignages et des anecdotes qui lui seraient utiles. C’est comme ça qu’on a abordé les thèmes de l’identité, des valeurs, du quotidien. Nathalie est également venue à certains workshops pour parler directement aux jeunes, poser les questions qui lui trottaient en tête. Pour les jeunes, c’était important de rencontrer l’équipe artistique qui allait parler d’eux/elles. Et pour Amandine et moi, ça permettait aussi de mettre en avant le côté esthétique du projet.

On imagine que les jeunes se sont mis∙e∙s à réfléchir à beaucoup de choses importantes ou auxquelles ils/​elles n’ont pas l’habitude de penser.

À côté des workshops, chacun∙e avait un carnet à remplir de façon libre et anonyme, avec différentes questions que certain∙e∙s ont trouvé trop personnelles ou compliquées. C’était intéressant de voir que les questions qui posaient problème n’étaient pas les mêmes pour les plus jeunes et pour les plus âgé∙e∙s. En tout cas, les workshops ont ouvert la voie à de nouvelles discussions entre eux/​elles, à des réflexions de fond. Je suis persuadée qu’ils/elles garderont tou∙te∙s quelque chose de ce projet.